Manchester’s indie guitar rock quartet have been likened to bands such as Oasis and The Stone Roses, as well as more contemporary bands such as Kasabian and the Arctic Monkeys. The band was formed in 2006 as Liam Fray, lead singer, brought together three childhood friends, to form The Courteeners.

2008 beckoned the release of their first studio album, ‘St Jude’. Arguably the tracks that gained their now massive following came from this album: ‘Not Nineteen Forever’, ‘Are You In Love With A Notion?’ and ‘Bide Your Time’.

Following this, the albums ‘Falcon’ (2010), ‘Anna’ (2013), and ‘Concrete Love’ (2014) have all been released, and have also been the catalyst for multiple tours, and many festival appearances.

Due to the bands loyal following, the release of ‘The 17th’ on 12th August, and the news of yet another studio album, sparked a craze on social media, leading to a response from Liam Fray on twitter; “Absolutely gob smacked by that reaction. Love yers xxx”.

New album, ‘Mapping The Rendezvous’ is due out on the 21st October, of this year.

The track list for ‘Mapping The Rendezvous’ has been released also and can be seen below:

1. Lucifer’s Dreams

2. Kitchen

3. No One Will Ever Replace Us

4. De La Salle

5. Tip Toes

6. Not For Tomorrow

7. Finest Hour

8. The Dilettante

9. Modern Love

10. Most Important

11. The 17th

Listen to ‘The 17th’ here.


Written by Harriet / @yellowdaffodilx